If you, or someone you love, was harmed in a hit and run accident in Ohio our accident attorneys are here to help you get what you deserve. Being in a hit and run accident takes a massive physical, mental, and emotional toll on the victim. And navigating legal language can add stress, frustration, and hopelessness to the picture.
Contact us here at GSAS so that one of our hit and run accident lawyers can handle that for you. You need to focus on taking care of yourself in the wake of an accident. We are here to fight to protect your rights and help heal some of the harm that has been done.
I’ve Just Been in a Hit and Run! What Next?
You’ve been in an accident! This is obviously an extremely stressful and scary event. If you are in a hit and run accident follow these steps to protect yourself.
- First things first, take stock of your injuries and damages. Even if you think you are only minorly injured you should still seek medical attention. Your body could be in shock.
- Call the appropriate authorities, have the police file a report and get the medical attention you need.
- Take photos of your injuries and all damages. Write down everything you can remember.
- Ask any witnesses at the scene to also write down everything they remember.
- Contact one of our attorneys here at GSAS to protect your rights and fight for what you deserve.
What are the Laws Around a Hit and Run Accident in Ohio?
In Ohio there are specific laws around a hit and run accident. One must stop at the scene of an accident if they have knowledge of causing damage or injury so they can exchange information with the other party. If these laws are violated then the offending party may have committed a crime. Section 4549.021 of Ohio State Law clearly lays out these laws.
- In the event of an accident the offending driver must stop to exchange information. But if a driver does not do this they have 24 hours to provide this information to the police or sheriff.
If the offending driver does not provide this information within 24 hours to the police or sheriff then they can be found guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree. However, if the accident resulted in serious injury or even death the offender can be found guilty of a felony.
What are the Penalties Associated with a Hit and Run Accident?
In the case of a hit and run in Ohio, or a ‘hit-skip’, there are penalties associated with these accidents. Depending upon the severity of the accident these penalties vary from misdemeanors to felonies.
- Misdemeanor in the First Degree
If an offender leaves the scene of an accident in Ohio and is found guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree they can face up to six months in jail, up to $500 in fines, and at least a six month license suspension.
- Felony of the Fourth Degree
If an offender not only leaves the scene of an accident in Ohio, but the accident also results in serious injury or damages, the offender can be found guilty of a felony of the fourth degree. This will result in 6-18 months of imprisonment and up to $5,000 in fees.
- Felony of the Second Degree
If the offender leaves the scene of an accident in Ohio and the accident results in death the offender can be found guilty of a felony of the second degree. This sentence carries a penalty of at least 2-8 years imprisonment and up to $15,000 in fines.
We are here to help you get what you deserve in the wake of an accident. We understand how important this is. Dealing with the emotional, physical, and mental fallout is enough for your plate, let us handle the legal fight for what you deserve.
We Are Here to Help
Being the victim of a hit and run accident can be devastating, confusing, and feel helpless. As a victim of an accident you have a right to fight for what is owed to you. Here at Spivak & Sakellariou we represent accident victims. Contact us today for a free consultation. It costs you nothing to be represented by us. We will only take a cut if we win your case. There is no risk in reaching out and allowing us to fight for you after the trauma of your hit and run accident.